Chapter 26 – Building image

Leaving the dungeon, I immediately told Tyxx to turn into a mark.
With the minotaur head on my right forearm, I felt accomplishment.
I managed to get the minotaur as my companion.
Now that I think about it, I never saw Nyu actually turning into a mark. I wonder when that fluffy fluff does that.

Logging out, I headed straight to the bathroom.

‘Shit, I almost peed myself.’

Spending around 32 real life hours in the game, that definitely wasn’t healthy.
Time might flow three times faster in Loiterous, but still, that was going overboard.
Playing for 24 hours without breaks was already hard, but now it was 32…
I need to make sure not to do that again, unless absolutely necessary.
Eating quickly made toasts, I made my way to bed.
It has been a tiring day, both physically and mentally, but I managed to get Tyxx.
With a feeling of accomplishing something huge, I drifted into the world of dreams.

After whole 24 hours since my log out, I logged back in into Loiterous.
During my absence, I made sure to stretch and buy some food for the next days.
Getting another 8 hours of sleep, I felt super rested.

Icicle: It’s good to be back, how are my familiars and companions doing, huh?

Immediately showing up, Nyu was the first to scream.

Nyu: I’m hungry!

Icicle: Did you guys not eat anything during the past 3 days?

Sixxy: What are you talking about? When you’re absent we don’t feel hunger.

‘Is the system feeding them? I’m so grateful that Loiterous doesn’t have 100% reality…’

Nyu: Stop daydreaming, I. AM. HUNGRY!

Icicle: Don’t be in such rush, here.

Feeding 4 creatures was making my 1000 day worth of supplies diminish to around 600 days in a matter of what, a week?
Maintenance cost of these guys is huge, but I won’t let myself be stingy with money.
Without their help, I won’t be able to accomplish much.
Besides, it is so heart-warming seeing them eat happily like this.

Tyxx: So, boss, where are we headed to now?

‘Boss, huh…it feels so good to be called that!’

Icicle: I bought a few maps in Lasos City. There are some dungeons marked on them, but I want something in 60-90 lvl range, so we can get some juicy experience. Leveling up will help Sixxy and Zetra. Even though Zetra is level 935, he can’t do much without me getting stronger first. I would like to say the same goes for Sixxy, but she’s overpowered. Even in her current form she’s a killing machine.

Tyxx: Hahaha, I feel so weak now.

Icicle: What can I say…

Tyxx: Don’t worry, we’ll overtake them soon.

High-fiving Tyxx, I saw that everyone was finished with their meal.

‘Tyxx is such a bro…’

Icicle: Okay then, Sixxy, Tyxx, you guys go back to being marks. I will fly on Zetra towards the dungeon, I will hold Nyu in my hands as I always do.

Nyu: Hmph, who said that I want to be held?

Icicle: You can always return to being a mark like Tyxx and Sixxy.

Seeing her hop into my arms, I guess she has made the decision.
Stroking her head I had a smile plastered on my face.

‘Good girl.’

Icicle: Okay Zetra, off we go, full speed!

Zetra: Hahaha, you know what’s good master.

Soaring high into the sky, Zetra had his wings spread in the full wingspan of 5m.
Feeling the wind on my face was so refreshing, man I just love flying!
From time to time, I told Zetra to do a barrel roll.
If someone saw me, they would probably think that I have gone crazy or reverted back to being a kid.
I’m not even sure if they would be wrong…
Finally seeing the dungeon marked on the map, I saw lots of players going in and out, the whole entrance was crowded.

Icicle: Let’s enter with style! Zetra, do a nosedive with a constant barrel rolling!

Zetra: Sure thing!

‘I love this bird, he’s as stupidly brave as me!’

“Look out! Some magical beast is descending!”

With players screaming left and right, I noticed the guards readying their weapons.
Completely ignoring them, I let out a scream.

Icicle: WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

Landing in the middle of the crowd, some people pointed their weapons at Zetra.
Few of the adventurers were cooking some food over the fire, others were using hammers to repair their items, there were some that sold miscellaneous items and even ones that wondered around blindly, as if looking for an impossible to get party.

Icicle: Hahahaha, thanks for that Zetra, that was a fun ride!

Petting his head, I heard a sound similar to a crow’s caw.
Hahaha, this Griffon is really one overgrown crow.

Looking around, I saw the exact same scenery I could see from the bird’s eye view.
Forest all around me, with that ancient, huge temple-like building in front of me.
Finally noticing that the players were either shocked or scared, I showed a wry smile.
For some reason, few of them still pointed their weapons at me.

Icicle: I apologize for scaring you, I just couldn’t help myself. Flying this way was too much of a temptation.

As if realizing I’m a player, the whispers started.

“Hey, that orb and robe, isn’t he the one from that video..?”

“Yeah, he won the Griffon in the tournament…”

When I was about to walk off, the usual happened…

‘These goddamn retards are everywhere…’

Group of 5 people charged straight at me.

Icicle: Tyxx, I bet you want to play with them, go ahead.

When the minotaur’s head mark on my right forearm dissipated into smoke, Tyxx appeared behind me.

Tyxx: To think you would let me have some fun this early, boss. I’m grateful!

Five chains have grown out of the one Tyxx was holding, I was as astonished as when I saw it the first time.

‘I’m really too much of a kid…’

[Entangle] was a crowd control skill, immobilizing any number of targets Tyxx chooses.
I asked the minotaur about the actual duration, but all he said was that it depended on the enemy’s and his own strength.

4 guys and 1 girl were completely entangled in chains, unable to move even an inch,

Tyxx: What should I do with them, boss?

Icicle: Let’s talk it out first.

Tyxx: Very well.

Icicle: Why did you attack me?

Brown haired girl with hazel eyes answered as if disgusted with the question.

???: You’re a player killer, why wouldn’t we attack you?!

Icicle: Oh that, right. Getting me in trouble all the time for these trash I killed. Tyxx release them, they were just trying to do the right thing. I’m not your enemy girl, it just so happens, that when you want to eradicate evil, you often have to become the evil one yourself.

Guards from the dungeon entrance came running towards me right after my noble speech.

Guard: Is something wrong, lord? Did anything happen to you? And you, do you know what a crime you have committed?! Attacking a noble is punished with a large fine or even jail time! Good thing you didn’t scratc-

Icicle: It’s okay, these guys were trying to keep the area free of criminals. No need to rebuke them.

Guard: But lord, they committed a crime, we can’t just let them go. Cuff the-

‘This guard is really making it hard for me to keep my cool…’

Icicle: I said it’s okay, if you do not want to anger me, then fall back in line. Am I understood?

Guards: Ye-Yes lord. False alarm, return to your stations.

With the commotion finally gone, I moved towards the ancient temple.
I thought no one will bother me after what I have just done, but I was immediately bombarded with questions.

“Excuse me, do you look for a party?”

“Do you have a girlfriend? Come on, tell me please!”

“That minotaur of yours is awesome, where can I get one?”

“Are you really a lord? How did you manage to become one?”

“What’s your class?”

“Could you show me your equipment please?”

‘What’s up with that girlfriend question…’

That was just too much. There was simply no way I could answer all of those at once.
Raising my hand to silence them, I started talking.

Icicle: *sigh* I can’t party up with you, because I’m a level 30 adventurer. I’m sure you are much higher leveled, it would be simply too unbeneficial for me. My equipment consists of what you can see, simple black robe, orb and a sword. These boots and gloves are lvl 10 equipment. Yes, I am a lord. I would tell you how to become one, but I have no idea myself. It was simply bestowed upon me as a perk of my subclass. I managed to “tame” Tyxx, the minotaur over there, in the labirynth south of here.
I don’t think there are some other minotaurs there though. My class is Water Mage. As for that girlfriend question, I don’t know why did you even ask me that, but no, I do not have one. Anything else?

“That tournament you took part in, how did you manage to sign up? I was trying to do so, but they didn’t let me pay and fighting that mercenary was simply impossible.”

Icicle: Oh, that one. I sparred against the mercenary after reversing his test. Surviving his strongest attack took all of my strength, but I managed to persevere and earned the spot in the elimination round. I wouldn’t recommend that method though, he was a rank 7 Mercenary.

“Is it true that your familiar, the Naga Queen is elite boss monster ranked?”

‘How do these people even know all of this? Were they watching the tournament?’

Icicle: Yes, that is true. Come on Sixxy, show yourself, seems like you have some fans already.

Appearing just like Tyxx, Sixxy towered over the players.

Sixxy: I have fans?

“Wow, she can speak!”

‘Why are they so surprised? They just heard Tyxx talking…’

“Just look at her, so cool!”

“Excuse me, Icicle, could you tell me what is Sixxy’s level?”

Icicle: It’s 1889, why?

“Wow, have you heard that? Level 1889 familiar, that’s so overpowered…”

“I thought he was hacking, but now it makes sense, with such a pet he can do whatever he wishes…”

“I feel bad of accusing him now…”

‘What are they talking about? I’m so confused.’

“How did you manage to get the Naga Queen though?”

Sixxy: I should answer this question! That kid over here walked into my hidden chamber, not only saying dumb stuff like “I’m going to make you my familiar.”, but also threatening me. He was so presumptuous that I was about to kill him. He had an ace up his sleeve though. I simply couldn’t leave the chamber. Being trapped underground for over 10000 years, when a chance to finally leave that hole showed itself, I couldn’t miss it . Would my fans like to know anything else?

‘She’s getting ahead of herself… oh well, I’ll let her steal the spotlight, Sixxy was imprisoned underground for so long that she deserves some leeway.’

“Mister Icicle, I saw you using ice magic during the tournament. I heard that Water Mages are a supprotive kind of mages. Is there something that allows you using such a strong offensive magic?”

Sixxy wasn’t happy when all the spectators turned their attention towards me.

Icicle: No need for that mister stuff. To answer your question, all I can tell you is that it has something to do with my hidden class. Can’t share all of my secrets now, can I?

“Have you heard him? He has a hidden class! So it is possible to have one!”

“These goddamn high level players won’t share anything, but he told us so much. Thank you, Icicle.”

“If you ever need help, do let us know!”

Friend requests bombarded me. I don’t know why, but being in a good mood I accepted all of them.
Well, it’s no biggy, you never know who might prove himself useful.

Turning my head to check what’s happening behind me, I saw some players, both male and female, checking out Tyxx.
Girls were saying things like “Oh my, look at that musculature.” “That abs looks so awesome!”, while guys were simply admiring the minotaur.
I don’t know if Tyxx wanted to entertain them, but he flexed his muscles, after which adventurers started cheering.

‘This minotaur is too much of a man…’

Nyu: Hey kid, hurry up, hearing all this chitter-chatter makes my head spin!

“Look at that, what an adorable creature!”

“It’s funny to see that it has such a foul mouth though!”

“Hey can I pet her? Pleeeease.”

Icicle: I’m not sure if Nyu will allow you to pet her. Do you have some sweets? Maybe you can bribe her that way, she loves them.

“I have some cake, will it do?”

“Candies here!”

It was getting pretty crowded around me, but it was a good thing.

Nyu didn’t mind the petting when she was handed all the delicious things.
In fact, seeing her nibbling the sweets so happily made many people smile.

“She’s so cute, I want a pet like that too! What exactly is Nyu?”

“Yeah, I want one like that too, come on Icicle, tell us!”

Icicle: I’m not sure myself. She’s what’s left after one of the ancient races that disappeared 10000 years ago. That’s all I can tell, I found her guarding Sixxy’s chamber.

“So we can’t have such a cute pet? Such a shame.”

“Yeah, I wanted to have such a fluffy one too :(”

Nyu: Hmph, cheeky brats, don’t treat me like I’m some kind of a mascot race. I’m a unique creature called Ice Guardian.
Each one of us was different, so don’t bother looking for my copy. Hmph.

Stroking her head, I felt really lucky that it is me who has this mischievous girl.

“Come on guys, don’t be sad, we can always visit Nyu, right?”

“Yeah, I’ll definitely come by from time to time.”

“Me too!”

“And me!”

‘These girls are getting ahead of themselves…’

Icicle: Thank you for welcoming me so kindly. I’ll be on my way to the dungeon now. Good luck to all of you.

“Wait, Icicle! You said that you are a lord, so you must have joined or founded a house, right? What’s the name?”

Icicle: It’s called House Whitesnow, I’m the creator. In the nearby future I’m going to establish a base in the north of the continent, precisely in the Kingdom of Glacia. That’s the plan at least. I don’t know how long will it take me to get stronger and gather the funds though. No promises on the date!

“Will you recruit some players? I would like to join your house!”

“Count me in too!”

“And me, I always wanted to be a noble!”

Hearing this merry voices, I had a smile plastered on my face.

Icicle: When I’m done with the base, you can visit me there. If I deem you appropriate, I’ll definitely let you join.

“Woooo!”

“Let’s work hard!”

After saying my goodbyes, I entered the portal leading to the dungeon.

14 thoughts on “Chapter 26 – Building image

Leave a comment