Chapter 32 – Burden of the leader

[Save Zaryoux Temple’s survivors] [Rank: SSS+]
Description: #!@$!%!@#!@#!%#!?@!#
Rewards: #@!@#?!#@#!#?!
You will lose intimacy with Lord Nimbe if you refuse this quest.

‘Umm, this description and rewards are definitely not to my liking… Did I bug the game or something? Well, I’m about to interfere with a deity’s plan, maybe it’s a set event in this world? *sigh* Why is it always me? Am I cursed? Are the develepors fucking with me? They better do not…’

Lord Nimbe: What are you taking so long for? Are you going to accept or not?

Icicle: You don’t understand. I wish to help you, but not on these “who knows what they are” terms. Let me make it clear for you. We-

Lord Nimbe: What are you babbling about? Just make your decision!

‘This bone fucker, he may be strong, but he’s getting at my nerves.’

Icicle: [Realm of frost].

I made sure to use the actual effect of the blizzard only around me and Dufraine.
Didn’t want to put out the lit torches after all…
Releasing as imposing aura as it can get, I looked at Lord Nimbe.

Icicle: Do you know what you’re making me accept?

Lord Nimbe: Of course I do, it’s a quest.

‘This goddamn skeleton isn’t even one bit disturbed… [Realm of frost], deactivate’

Icicle: Then do you know how quests work?

Lord Nimbe: Someone issues them and other people that are enticed by the reward accept it. Depending on the outcome, they might or might not get the reward.

Icicle: I’m not talking about this concept of the quest. RapidFire, you were once an adventurer, tell him.

At least the archer was standing ramrod straight now. That kneeling position earlier wasn’t cut out for him.
Imagine a 3m tall guy kneeling…

RapidFire: I’m sorry, tell Lord Nimbe what exactly?

*sigh* What a bunch of morons…
This entire situation is making me feel depressed.
I mean, how much of a dumbass can you be?
Nonetheless, I resignedly continued.

Icicle: *sigh* If you do accept a declaration of war quest, does the other side get the wind of it?

RapidFire: Y-Yes, it does. What does it have to do with this quest though?

Icicle: I don’t know if you guys are that dumb, or you’re pretending. *sigh* If I do indeed accept this quest, won’t it be telegraphed to our beloved goddess?

Sarcasm was oozing out of me, I hope they can at least understand that much…

Lord Nimbe: I see. So you’re scared, is that it? We will have to deal with her sooner or later anyways!

‘Is this necromancer really that dumb? No wonder he was outsmarted and turned into an undead…’

Icicle: I can understand that with that transformation of yours, your brain has already rotten and all, but could you get intelligent for just a second? I’m seriously trying here, while you’re such a dumbass, that you want to have a go against a goddess. Not to mention, one, that can surely one-shot you.

Lord Nimbe: Hmph, do you not realize that I’m the strongest being in this room, kid?

Icicle: Who cares about that if you can’t even leave this temple? I could still kill you, it would take some time, that’s all.

Lord Nimbe: Undead, heed my call. Eleminate the one before me! [Undead ris-

‘Here it goes again…I have to stop this dumbass, he’ll be useful in the future.’

Icicle: Sorry to bother you Nyu, but could you restrain this idiotic necromancer? Otherwise, he’s going to get himself killed.

Nyu: Hmph, why would I bother if he’s going to die anyways, cheeky kid?

Icicle: We’ll need him in the future, so just make sure to immobilize him, okay?

Making a puppy eyes, I tried convincing Nyu.

Nyu: You’re such a needy kid. I better get some sweets for this, you hear me?

Icicle: Yeah, yeah, you’ll get some.

Stroking her head, I enjoyed the show.
Ice mana that had a different feel to it than mine, how should I describe it… it was… richer? More powerful?

‘Man, I wish I could use such a compressed one too…’

Anyways, this ice energy with an ancient feeling to it descended from above the necromancer, completely enveloping Lord Nimbe, thus enclosing his entire being, well, except his head. in ice.
Nyu probably did it so he can at least talk.

Lord Nimbe: Y-You had such a powerful familiar?! How can it be!

RapidFire didn’t even dare to move after seeing Nyu’s showdown…
Well, if it was used against me, I guess I wouldn’t dare to move as well…

Stroking her head, I whispered into Nyu’s ear: “Thank you, Nyu.”

Nyu: I’m going to get some sleep. Don’t disturb me cheeky kid.

‘She’s so cute when she’s trying to pout.’

Switching to the matter at hand, I was looking at the necromancer with superiority and he clearly didn’t like it.

‘Well, he forced my hand…’

Icicle: Now that we know who’s stronger and all, can we talk it out?

Lord Nimbe: Hmph, like I have a choice…

Icicle: Then listen well. If I accepted this quest of yours, we’re letting Likaan know, that we’re plotting against her. That’s a no-no. You may be strong for an average human’s standard, but you’re but a speck in front of a goddess. And so am I. To make it clearer for you, the light element that I’ve gotten from Likaan, was able to completely erase the undead, as long as I enclosed them in ice. It took some time, sure, but they were dead… this time for real. Do you still want to openly challenge that smug deity?

Lord Nimbe: Being scolded by a kid…*sigh* You’re right, I acted rashly, my apologies. Can you take that ice back, please? I promise I won’t act up again.

I was about to nudge Nyu, when the ice covering Dufraine dispersed into nothingness.

‘I guess she still hasn’t fallen asleep.’

Icicle: Now to break down what you’ve already told me. Killing one another is a trademark for the Deity of Darkness. Not for the Deity of Light, correct?

Lord Nimbe: Y-Yeah, what of it?

Icicle: Assuming that it really is so, why would the Deity of Light suddenly get assassinated and have his position taken over? There might be a plot behind it, but… My conclusion is as follows. The one who killed Zaryoux was Likaan, whether he was killed fairly or not, I can’t tell. The same goes for if she was working for someone or not, I simply do not know. However, if she really assassinated him, then she probably couldn’t be of a light element. Likaan was probably using dark magic to begin with. If we take into account that she’s the goddess of light now, we can assume, that she’s not just another deity… She’s a dual-element user. And that makes it even more scary than it was up till now…

Lord Nimbe: I knew we were on the losing end, but this… if it really is true, can we even do anything?

Icicle: Well, these are all assumptions. I don’t think they are baseless though. I’ll just ask someone to confirm real quick.

Lord Nimble: And who could you ask, that is so reliable?

Icicle: The Water Deity of course, who else?

Lord Nimbe: …

‘Well, I would be surprised myself…’

Icicle: *Oii, Acquare, you there?*

Acquare *What do you want, little one?*

‘Well, now she’s definitely rested… no sign of kindness 😦 ‘

Icicle: *Just one simple, little thing. I need you to confirm or deny something.*

Acquare: *Fine, be quick with it.*

Icicle: *Is that bitc-, I mean, Likaan, a dual-element user?*

Acquare: *And how should I know that?*

Icicle: *Hmph, at least you could pretend better. Tell me now, I need to know before I make a decision.*

Acquare: *You’re calling me a liar? Trust me kid, when I’ll see you face to face, you’ll get one hell of a smack.*

Icicle: *Ok grandma, are you done with the scolding? Good. Then answer me now, pretty please.*

Acquare: *Believe me kid, if I didn’t need you, you’d be drowning right now… As for your question, I don’t know if Likaan is a dual-elemental or not. I suppose she is, but I can’t say for sure.*

Icicle: *Thanks, that helps me out. Don’t get so mad, your anger will detract from your beauty. I don’t want you to get all withered and wrinkled…*

Acquare: *You little twerp, are you calling me ugly? Or are you-*

Icicle: *Fufufu, time will tell, my dear goddess, time will tell.*

Acquare: *…*

Lord Nimbe: How was it?

Icicle: Well, she’s probably a dual-elemental. Nothing’s certain. But the doubt is there, that should be enough. Now for the plan. I do wish to help you, but I can’t accept the quest. If I do, we’re doomed. The task I’ve received from Likaan has no time limit, so I have an idea. I need you to answer a few questions first though.

Lord Nimbe: Ask away, we’re partners in crime now anyways…

Icicle: That sounds wrong, we’re just minding our own business… *sigh* Whatever, call it what you wish. I want to know, if you’re the strongest being in this dungeon, and by that I mean the entire Zaryoux Temple.

Lord Nimbe: I think so, why?

Icicle: You think so, or you know that? There’s a difference, I need to be sure for the plan to work.

Lord Nimbe: I am the strongest.

Icicle: Good, now, do you have command over all the other undead?

Lord Nimbe: Yes I do, what doe-

Icicle: Are you willing to join my house?

Lord Nimbe: … huh?

Icicle: I want to keep us alive until we have the chance to deal with Likaan. Are you in or not? If you don’t want to join then this whole plan is useless.

Lord Nimbe: From what you’re saying, I don’t have a choice. I can’t leave the temple, nor can I stand up against Likaan on my own.

After seeing him sigh resignedly, I heard two words that were like music to my ears.

Lord Nimbe: Invite me.

Giving Dufraine a squad leader position, that means he’s just a higher ranked miitary officer, I felt satisfied.
If I were to appoint him as a noble, what good would it do? He can’t even leave this place!
This position has to be enough for him, at least for now.

‘Fufufu, he’s so clueless! Hook, line and sinker!’

Now that I have him under my control, let’s try it.

Icicle: Claim [Zaryoux Temple].

Seeing the blue interface before me, a wicked grin appeared on my face.

[System message]
Are you sure you want to claim [Zaryoux Temple]?
Yes/No

Pressing yes, I became the new owner.

‘Now that I think about it, I can do the same with [Desolated Catacombs]. I’ve sort of defeated the strongest monster in the entire dungeon after all!’

Lord Nimbe: Wha- what’s going on?

Icicle: Just give me a moment, I’ll explain in a second. Claim [Desolated Catacombs].

[System message]
Are you certain you want to claim [Desolated Catacombs]?
Yes/No

‘They are even using slightly different words in these messages! That AI is so clever!’

After pressing yes, I was presented with the new menus.

[Zaryoux Temple] [Lvl 1]
Owner: Icicle Whitesnow
Taxes: 0% [Change]
PvP restriction: off [Change]
Equipment level required: 150 [Change]
Entering restriction: free for all [Change]
Renovations: 1 039 586 gold coins required [Donate]
Monsters’ respawn timer: 24 hours [Change]
Monsters’ HP: 100% [Change]
Monsters’ stats: 100% [Change]
Dungeon upgrade: Available, requires 2 039 586 gold coins. [Pay]

There were many other options, but I won’t meddle with them just yet.
Monsters’ hp and stats can be lowered to the minimum of 50%, but maxed out at 250%.
I can already smell this dungeong being a perfect future training ground…
I’ll have my sweet time with the other options later.
Let’s see the other dungeon.

[Desolated Catacombs] [Lvl 1]
Owner: Icicle Whitesnow
Taxes: 0% [Change]
PvP restriction: off [Change]
Equipment level required: 0 [Change]
Entering restriction: free for all [Change]
Renovations: 200 000 gold coins [Donate]
Respawn timer: 24 hours [Change]
Monsters’ HP: 100% [Change]
Monsters’ stats: 100% [Change]
Dungeon upgrade: Available, requires 700 000 gold coins. [Pay]

‘It’s time to make some money off these juicy taxes. Having the dungeon’s bosses under my control, other players won’t be able to even contest my ownership… fufufufu.’

I set Desolated Catacombs’s taxes to 15%.
Players were definitely going to get mad no matter what amount I set, that’s why I set the monsters’ respawn timer at 1 hour.
Monsters’ hp and stats were left at 100%. Can’t make it too easy for them…
The changes were announced through the system message.

[Good afternoon adventurers, new owner here. As you can probably see, from now on, I’ll be taking 15% of your dropped gold. You can call me cruel, but I’m sure that the guilds that will own the dungeons will go as far as taking half of your gold and items. To make it somewhat bearable, I made the respawn timer for monsters set at 1 hour instead of the former 24 hours. PvP restriction is on, that means no player killing will be allowed. If someone somehow manages to kill the other player inside the dungeon, I’ll make sure he’s put in jail for a long time. Enjoy your time in [Desolated Catacombs]. Best regards, Icicle Whitesnow.]

This should do it… I have a plan if it backfires, but let’s hope it doesn’t.

Now for our main focus, [Zaryoux Temple].

[Good afternoon, brave adventurers, new owner, Icicle Whitesnow, here. 24 hours from now, this dungeon will be completely closed from the public. As such, I’m setting the monster respawn timer at 30 minutes instead of the original 24 hours. I’m waiving the equipment restriction. PvP restriction is enforced. There will be no player killing in this last day of hunting. If you want to powerlevel, or help your weaker friends out, here’s your chance. For this full day’s duration, the gold tax will be set at 10%. I’m not greedy, all the dropped items are yours. I know it’s sudden, and you probably wanted to explore this dungeon more, but that’s what the situation requires of me. This full lockdown is only a temporary solution. I’ll let you know if there will be any changes. Good luck with your hunting. Best regards, Icicle Whitesnow.]

Phew, I’m done with that one too.
Time to explain everything to the necromancer.

Icicle: Here’s the deal, Dufraine. 24 hours from now, I’m closing this entire Zaryoux Temple. No one will be able to get in.

Lord Nimbe: Why are you doing that? Do you want to imprison us? We are already unable to leave!

Icicle: Come on, I’m helping you out here. Likaan won’t be able to do anything to you until you get stronger.

Lord Nimbe: Don’t you mean until we get stronger?

Icicle: You’re the ones she wants to eliminate. I’m on her radar, but she can’t do anything, unless i fall into her trap. I did it once already, that’s enough. I’ll be staying here with you guys for the next 3 weeks. After that, I need to get going for the tournament. There’s probably a lot of money to be earned. Huh? Don’t look at me like that! I need the money to set up our future bases. We can’t just swing our swords and cast some mediocre magic, hoping that we can defeat a deity. We need people, powerful people who will guide us. Whether it is training or gathering informations, we need resources. When we gather resources, we need information networks and so on and so forth. There’s a lot to be done before we can actually even graze a deity… not to mention a dual-element one.

Lord Nimbe: I see, that is ceirtainly the case. I was blinded by my rage and didn’t even see that far in the future… *sigh* My apologies Icicle, you truly deserve to be the leader. I’ll leave my and my comrades’ fate in your hands.

Icicle: Now, now. There’s still a lot of work ahead of us. After 24 hours are up, gather all of your forces here. We need to prepare for the future events.

Lord Nimbe: Somehow, I have a feeling we’ll have to work our asses off…

Icicle: You’re not the tiniest bit off my friend, not the tiniest bit…

9 thoughts on “Chapter 32 – Burden of the leader

  1. 11/10. Dont stop ever with this and try post this on Light novel reddit when you release a new chapter, you’d gain like a shit ton more views

    Like

    • Reddit, huh? I’ll try it, need to make all sorts of sheets for the characters first though. And finish writing the 2 chapters I promised 😛 I’ll definitely check it out though, thanks for the heads up.

      Like

Leave a comment