Chapter 51 – Artisan classes’ advantage

Author’s note: I forgot to give you guys some foreshadowing. Few lines have been added to the Chapter 39 Albatros Company Studio’s talk.

Coming back to my apartment, I put the crimson clothes into the washing machine.
Hot shower cleansed my flesh from sweat that I accumulated while running.

After wearing a new set of clothes, I went shopping.

It was an uneventful trip, going to the supermarket, buying some groceries and coming back.
Nothing of importance, so I’ll spare the details.

My fridge was loaded and my conscience at ease.
It was time to log back into Loiterous.

Albatros Company’s Studio

Lisa: How are we doing on the update, Jack, Carl?

Jack: It’s almost done, boss. We’ll probably finish the whole thing by tomorrow morning.

Lisa: I see. Announce it on the website, so that the players won’t be surprised.

Carl: Yes madame.

Lisa:  ‘I wonder how you’ll fare when the laws of nature change, my little Ice Mage, fufufu~’

Raren City, Loiterous, Icicle’s POV

Icicle: *Oi Zetra, you there?*

Zetra: *What is it master?*

Icicle: *That bag I left with you, get your shares of food and bring it to me. We need to restock our supplies.*

Zetra: *Not a problem, master.*

Icicle: *I’ll wait for you at the southern gate.*

Zetra: *Understood. I’ll be right there.*

It will take at least 10, maybe even 15 minutes till my Gryphon gets here, might as well check how’s the blacksmith Roland doing.

Moving through the busy streets, I recognized that all of the townsfolk look different than me.
Is that why they’re looking at me so intently?

I am an adventurer, but is this it? Or is it about the clothing?
There’s not enough gold coins for me to splurge, I’ll have a lot of people to pay in the future.
Not like I need new clothes, but new equipment… nah, that’s not possible.
Why would someone sell an artifact?
Unless they don’t know it is one…

With thoughts like that, I reached the blacksmith’s covered in smoke workshop.
Just like the last time, there were a few people purchasing weapons and armor, others ordering stuff.

What’s new, was that Roland had a few disciples helping out.

Icicle: Hello Roland, how’s my order?

Blacksmith Roland: If it isn’t the generous lord! It’s going smoothly, sir. We’ll finish by the end of the day.

Icicle: Excellent, I’ll come back later then.

Blacksmith Roland: Safe travels, lord.

Hmm, there’s still some time, what should I do?
I don’t really know anything about the items in this world, might as well check some stalls.

Icicle: Hey Roland, could you give me directions to the merchants’ area? Ones that sell miscelaneous things to be exact.

Blacksmith Roland: Head to the right of my workshop, over there, and you shall reach that area, lord.

Roland even pointed out the direction, what a reliable blacksmith, fufu~.

Icicle: Thanks Roland.

Moving along the away, I saw many adventurer couples sitting on the benches, walking around eating ice creams and other delicacies, some even went as far as cuddling in the open.

I didn’t really realize it because of my training in solitude, but many people log into Loiterous just to spend time together.
That makes sense, some people work overseas or live far away, no wonder they bought the game just to spend some time together in the “second reality”.
Even long distance relationships have a blast now…

And here I am, alone…*sigh*

Merchants area. All kinds of screams could be heard.

Merchant Adios: Check out my store! There was new batch of goods delivered today! Come while they’re still fresh!

Merchant Kadin: Necklaces, earrings all kinds of cheap jewelry! 50% off only for today! Don’t waste this once in a lifetime chance!

There were many others, but all I heard was a mumble.
I skipped the merchant with some various “edible” things that I’ve never seen before and went straight to the one with baubles and trinkets.

What do we have here…

Merchant Hafar: Do you look for something in particular, young man?

Icicle: Just looking around. I’ll let you know, mister, if something piques my interest.

Merchant Hafar: Hohoho, what a kind young man. Very well, take your time.

[Earring of concentration] [Elite]
Description: One of the rare rings worn by a well-trained archer.
+15 Agility
+10 Dexterity
Special effect: Decreases use of Focus by 25%.
Requirements: Archer related class, level 60.

Rings like these exist? On the baubles’ market?
And what’s this Focus thingy? Is it what archers use instead of mana?

I can’t let this merchant show that I’m interested in it, otherwise he’ll charge me with an exorbitant price.
Let’s look for something else.

[Holy cross of protection] [Rare]
Description: Beginner priest’s basic piece of equipment.
+10 wisdom
+5 intelligence
+25 Faith
Special effect: All healing is increased by 10%
Requirements: Light element, faith related class, level 25.

Hmm, this doesn’t seem too bad.
Not like I can use it…

[Rusted scabbard] [???]
???

That’s interesting. It can be an artifact or a complete piece of junk that’s not even rated as basic.

[Mysterious ring] [???]
???

That’s so shady that I won’t even touch it.
Who would name their ring “mysterious” ?

Acquare: *Kid, get that ring before anyone else does! Hurry!*

What the hell?

Icicle: *Why would you need it, it’s some junk…*

Acquare: *JUNK? It’s a ring given by US, deities. Did you really just call it junk? HUH?*

Icicle: *U-Umm, no, don’t get angry, you must’ve misheard…*

Acquare: *So I’m a deaf old woman now, huh?*

Icicle: *Oh shut up. I’ll get it.*

Why do women always trouble me so much?

Icicle: Alright mister, these two rings, that cross and rusted scabbard, how much do you want for it?

Merchant Hafar: 100 gold coins.

This guy is crazy…

Icicle: You want me to pay 100 gold coins for this junk?

Merchant Hafar: What are you calling junk?! These are high quality products!

Icicle: I’ll be generous and give you 10 gold coins.

Merchant Hafar: 50 gold coins.

Icicle: 10.

Merchant Hafar: Okay, okay, 15 gold coins and we’re set.

*sigh* Whatever, it’s not that much anyways…

Eshel: *What are you doing? Use [Observe] on these rings first.*

Icicle: *What do you mean, Eshel?

Eshel: *Don’t act so dumb, kid. Forgery. These items can be fake, you need to be cautious, check them out first.*

Hahaha, so merchants can be this tricky!

‘[Observe]’

[Forged earring]
Description: Low quality metal was used to make this ring.
Stats: none

[Embellished wooden cross]
Stats: Art +5

[Rusted scabbard] [???]
???

[Mysterious ring] [???]
???

Fuck, those two items of value are all trash!

Merchant Hafar: Young man?

Icicle: Oh, I’m sorry, I just realized that you were trying to scam me. I’ll tell you what. i’ll give you 5 gold coins for all of these, and if you even try to raise the price a little, I’ll scream at the top of my lungs that you’re a Forger.

Merchant Hafar: And who would believe a little kid like you? GUARDS! HELP! I’m being robbed! *This is how you do it, young man, you always strike first. Have fun in jail.*

Did this guy just trick me?

Guard: What’s the matter, Hafar?

Merchant Hafar: This young man here was threatening me! Look at his hands, he’s even carrying some of my merchandise!

Guard: Is this true, young ma-

Merchant Hafar: What are you kneeling for? Apprehend him!

Guard: We’re very sorry for this inconvenience, lord.

Merchant Hafar: Lord? What are you on? It’s just some youngster with an emble- Huh?!

Icicle: There’s no need for you to kneel. Rise.

Guard: Thank you lord.

Icicle: These two items are forged. One of your merchants is trying to scam people. I’ll leave the ruling to your authorities. Oh, and as for you, Hafar, I’m keeping this scabbard and this junk ring as a compensation for my time. Hope you’ll have a blast in jail. Bye bye.

What a waste of time, to think there are forgers even inside the game!
… I wish I was one. *cries*

Oh well, I got the ring, guess Acquare will be happy at the very least…
I have no idea what’s it for, but if she’s content and not grumbling that’s enough for me.

Icicle: *Thanks for the tip, Eshel. I would pay for this junk if it wasn’t for you.*

Eshel: *That’s what you have me for, boy.*

These artisan classes really can have a field day.
Buying items will be so difficult.
I wonder if you can even forge some items and then sell them on the auction.
There’s so much bank to make off of forging…

Oh well, I’ll be more careful next time.

Zetra: *Where are you, master, I’m already at the southern gate.*

Icicle: *Sorry, I’ve ran into some trouble. Can you fly over to the market district? It’s on the west side of the city.*

Zetra: *I’m your blood familiar, remember? I know where you are, master.*

Oh right, I forgot about that…

Citizen 1: Look, there’s a huge bird flying over here!

Citizen 2: Guards, protect us!

Icicle: No need to worry! This Gryphon is not hostile! Be at ease!

Citizen 1: Not hostile?

Citizen 3: It’s a Magical beast! How can you say that?

Icicle: Well, it’s my Gryphon, so…

Citizen 2: You heard that? This young man owns a Gryphon!

Landing next to me, Zetra was confused.
People around us started whispering, looking at me then at Zetra, with eyes full of admiration.

Zetra: M-Master, it’s embarassing.

Icicle: Hahaha, don’t act so shy, Zetra. That’s the advantage of being strong. You can earn respect just by showing up.

*whoosh* *whoosh*

Citizen 4: Look at that wingspan!

Yeah, Zetra’s become a show-off…

Somewhere in Icicle’s vicinity

Bert: Look at this guy, constantly flaunting. Rich son of a bitch buying things on the market…

Pek: What do you mean, Bert? Sure, he seems arrogant, but I have never seen anyone with a Gryphon. How would he be able to buy one?

Bert: What, are you suggesting he simply tamed it? That lvl 45 scrub?

Minu: Shut up, both of you. What does it matter? We’ll get all of his stuff anyways. Let’s just wait for this grand opening of his artisan district.

Hanyk: What’s our plan on that one, leader?

Minu: That’s quite simple. We’ll sneak in as the artisans, then murder all of these artisan scrubs and steal whatever we can. Afterwards, we’ll scram and share the profits. Judging from the way he’s spending money, we’ll earn quite a lot of cash.

Bert: I can’t wait!

Pek: Are the others nearby? We haven’t heard from them for quite some time.

Minu: Who knows, maybe they’re getting better equipment or just relieving their pent up desires in the brothel. Whatever they’re doing, these guys will be there for the showdown.

Icicle: Alright Zetra, that’s enough. Thanks for delivering these two bags. I’ll need you in the evening to carry all of the weapons back.

Zetra: Whatever you say, master.

Icicle: I’ll check the other stores and head off to the tournament later. I’ll let you know when the time comes. *Get this 55300 gold back to the dungeon. I don’t want to get robbed.*

Zetra: *Understood, master. I’ll be on my way.*

Stroking Zetra’s head to show my “love”, I waved to his diminishing, flying off silhouette.

Citizen 1: I wish I had a bird like that.

Citizen 2: Who doesn’t…

Merchant Kadios: Hey, young man, check my goods over here, I’ll give you a discount!

Merchant Juye: No, visit my stall! I promise there are no forged items!

As such, I wondered through the stalls of many merchants, buying some baubles that caught my eye from time to time.
It was almost the end of the market, when I reached an old man selling books.

I wonder why is it always an old man. First old man Nirvarus, now this one.
Well, maybe the developers had no idea how to sympathize with a player?

Merchant Manine: Welcome, customer. *cough* Feel free to look at these wonderful works of art.

Icicle: Don’t mind if I do.

[Adventures of Yartan, the legendary Swordsman]

[How to become a Gardener, tips and tricks]

[Wonders of painting: Styles and pointers]

[Knight’s guide: Horseback riding]

[Little girl’s adventure in the woods]

[Lightning Emperor: How to become a powerful mage!]

[Compendium: Religions and their revelations]

[Laws of nature]

[???]

[Advanced blacksmithing: The strong hand]

[Merchant’s way to power: Establishing your first little empire]

Holy shit, these are all interesting.
Well, maybe not the “little girl in the woods” one…
This religions and their revelation one… I wonder if it could help me.
There’s even one I can’t recognize. Hmm…

Icicle: *Hey Eshel, what is that book over there? I can’t recognize it.*

Eshel: *It’s a manuscript of a ritual. When you read the contents and do what this book says, some things in this world may change. This is similar to what happened in the [Desolated Catacombs]. I think you’ve called it an “event”.*

Icicle: *Do you know what exactly can happen?*

Eshel: *I’m not an encyclopedia, kid. All I know is that it is a book of some ritual. Whether it’s propitious one or not, I have no idea. It can make you 100 times stronger, summon an Overlord of Darkness or cripple you for a lifetime. All of these and many more outcomes are a possibility.*

Icicle: *I see, thank you.*

Well, this book will be of better use in my hands than some other random player.
Who knows what’s inside.
I have around 800 gold coins left, plus the 2000 for my expenses, 2800 total.
Hell, I can’t spend that much, the price better be reasonable.

Icicle: Excuse me, sir Manine, how much do these two books cost?

Merchant Manine: Hohoho, you have a good eye, customer. The one about religions costs 50 gold, as for this one… 3000 gold coins. Not a gold coin less.

Icicle: I see, you do realize what effects it can have, right?

Merchant Manine: Of course, that’s why it is worth so much. Don’t tell me a person of your status doesn’t have a few gold coins to spare.

Icicle: I may have status, but I’m not rich. Don’t confuse these two. There’s no way I’ll give you that much for a book of questionable origin. I don’t even know what’s inside. What if you have already read it? It will be useless.

Merchant Manine: That’s certainly a possibility, young one. Why do you think the price is so low? Such books can go as high as 100 000 gold coins! Well, I’ve seen few that were bid for over half a million, but they were really rare. So, young man, will you use this godsent chance or not?

Icicle: *sigh* I may be young, but I am no fool. You wouldn’t sell it for so little if it was worth much. You can keep it, old man. I’ll take the one about religions.

Merchant Manine: Hohoho, seems like I have spoken too much. Come closer, young man, I possess something special that may interest you.

These merchants are always so shady…

Merchant Manine: Here, this book was passed down from father to son for many generations. It contains information about Water Mage class. However, be warned, that reading it before reaching Master level may cause your mind to corrupt. There’s another book here, meant for leaders. I think it will be an interesting read for someone of your status. So, what do you think?

Icicle: I presume that you realize, that after tricking me once, I have no intention of buying these books unless I check them out first.

Merchant Manine: But of course. You shouldn’t read the one meant for Water Mages. You’re not at the level you can understand it yet. Well, if you want to, you can, just don’t blame me for the after-effects.

Icicle: Don’t worry, I won’t read it. I’ll just check if what you’re saying is true.

Merchant Manine: I don’t know how you’re going to do that, but feel free to do so.

Icicle: *Oi, Nyu, you sleepyhead, wake up. I need your help.*

Nyu: *Nyaaa? What is it human? Is it feeding time?*

Icicle: *I need to know if this book is useful for me. Read it and tell me.*

Nyu: *Can’t you read it yourself? Why would I *yawn* do it?*

Icicle: *I wouldn’t ask you for help if I didn’t have to. I know you’re… busy. It’s supposedly not for my level, so, can you read it and tell me if it in fact is so? Pleaseee*

Nyu: *That’s not enough human, you need to do something in return.*

Icicle: *I already bought you chocolate…*

Nyu: *Such a devious human… bribing then blackmailing me with the same thing!*

Icicle: *Enough of the antics, Nyu. Time is of an essence. Read it and tell me if it’s worth the purchase.*

Merchant Manine: Are you done, young man?

Icicle: Just a little longer.

Nyu: *Stop talking and turn the pages, human. I’m getting impatient.*

Nyu: *Okay, I’m done. Tell you what, this book is indeed useful for you, human. It talks about regenerating mana faster, getting your water essence stronger, reducing the cost of your spells by using the mana better and a lot of other stuff that you won’t understand. Not yet, at least. However, although it indeed is useful, it’s nothing more than a copy. It lacks quite a few pages too. You shouldn’t buy it.*

Icicle: *Wait, what? How can you know all of that?*

Nyu: *Don’t act so surprised, human. You know nothing about me. I’ve read a lot of books, so I’m 100% confident that it’s a copy, a lacking one at that. Now, give me the chocolate!*

Handing the delicacy over to Nyu, I was flabbergasted.
Not only was she reading fast, like lightning fast, she even knew that this one was a copy without few pages!
Just how much did she have to read?

Icicle: You indeed have a worthy book in your hands.

Merchant Manine: Hohoho, so you’ve seen it too. It will be 100 gold coins for both leadership and religion relating book and 2000 gold coins for this one, How does this sound?

Icicle: It is a good offer, however… I’ll take only these two for 100 gold coins.

Merchant Manine: Why? Didn’t you say it is a worthwhile book?

Icicle: It is, however it’s lacking pages and, well, it’s just a copy.

Merchant Manine: H-How? How can you know that? You didn’t even look at it, just turned the pages!

Icicle: I wish I could tell you, but as you know, some answers are worth more than the others. If you’re really curious, I don’t mind telling you if you hand me over that ritual book of yours.

It was cute how much that old man was squirming.

Merchant Manine: F-F-Fine! I need to know, otherwise I won’t be able to fall asleep!

Icicle: Thank you for your cooperation.

Merchant Manine: What’s the answer?!

Icicle: My companion read it.

Merchant Manine: There’s no one else here, stop lying!

Petting Nyu a little, she showed up for the merchant.

Merchant Manine: I-Impossible! Y-You! You’ve tricked me! Someone else read it for you!

Icicle: You have never set any rules. It’s your loss, old man. Thanks for the books, I’ll treasure them.

Merchant Manine: You got me, little one. *sigh* Icicle Whitesnow, huh? You’re a true devil…

Paying only 100 gold coins for three supposedly useful books, I left in a joyous mood.
Destination – food store!

6 thoughts on “Chapter 51 – Artisan classes’ advantage

Leave a comment