Chapter 95 – Black Market

Author’s note: Alright, here’s the late chapter 95. There should be at least two more this week, pinky promise~.

Location Unknown, Black Market, Shady’s POV

Ah, it feels good to live a life of a rich person.
Having all this money on me, I truly feel like a king of the world.

Right after receiving these generous funds from that naive idiot Icicle Whitesnow, I used the [Black Market]’s allocated medallion and transferred to the [Black Market] area.
I have no idea where this place is located, only the ones in the inner circle know.

Currently, I’m only one of the lower ranked people, without access to the inside information.
However, that is prone to change, with all the large hauls I’m bringing recently, I’ll surely be noticed in due time.

This place didn’t change much from the last time I came here.
Aside from the inherent to this place grey stone buildings, there was a new pavement made from… what’s surprising the same colored stone.
If I didn’t know it’s one of the black markets, I would consider this place a hidden prison.

Many “street vendors” displayed their goods.
The origin of such goods, needless to say, is fishy.
Kidnapped children, stolen family heritage, ancient scrolls, books, maps, keys to the vaults and chests full of gold, every single thing in this place could be considered either a treasure or a useless junk.

What’s the most valued treasure in this place is obviously information.
Every single member wears a mask or uses some kind of disguise spell to tread through the place anonymously.
Only when registering your existence in the [Black Market] do you need to fill out the data.
It’s a safety measure in case someone tried to implicate the [Black Market] or its patrons.

I’m calling it [Black Market] because only the privy members of the inner circle know its actual name.
There were rumors that the name of this place would pinpoint to its actual location, that’s why it’s kept hidden.
Whether it was true or not is not something I can confirm.

I had my ears perked just in case some bits of information travelled by, but no one was so careless here.
Didn’t hurt to try.

As I was passing through many stalls, buying the supplies I need for the [Goblin Encampment], I was hailed by the infamous innkeeper, Herix.
The inn or as it was popularly called [Mission Center] was one of the three places in the entire [Black Market] that weren’t grey.
Its color was of an healthy oak, crossing between light and dark brown.

Herix worked as a proxy, both for the “to do” missions, as well as accepting tasks on his own. His prices were absurdly high, but there was almost no mission that he wouldn’t accept.
For adequate price of course.

If you needed anything done, Herix was the place to go.
Herix’s connections all over the world were numerous because of his long career, thus he was unrivaled in the area.

“Good to see you again, Shady.” Herix, the burly middle-aged man said in his hoarse voice.
Without delay, I properly replied “It’s nice to see you too sir”.
“Listen, I know you’re busy, but I do have an information that might be of great benefit to you” when Herix said that his voice was hushed.
I went straight to the point “How much?”.

Scratching his head, Herix seemed to be hesitating.
That old cunning fox wants to rip me off just like me and the goblin cheiftain did with the Icicle.
I may be young, but there’s no way I’ll let that happen.

After a while, Herix looked at me seriously “This is something good, so 1000 gold coins, not one more, not one less”.
Hearing his proposal, I felt offended.
1000 gold coins? Sure, I was rich now, 91 000 in the bank, from which at least 40 000 had to be spent, leaving me with over 50k.
However, that naggy goblin chieftain would send people after me if I run with the money.

It’s not that I can’t take care of them, but if the wind of me swindling my business partner got out, the [Black Market]’s administration would make short work of me.

With this quick chain of thought, I replied straightforwadly “I’m sorry Mr. Herix, I can’t pay that much. If it were 500 gold coins, then maybe I could pay, bu-

Not even hearing the rest of my made-up excuse, Herix yelled “Deal!”.
Now I really felt scammed, but what’s done is done.
I couldn’t go back on my word now, otherwise ridicule and mocking would float my way, apart from that, with Herix’s connections, I might as well not come back to the [Black Market] at all.

Black fog roiled from between Herix’s fingers, encompassing both me and him.
Who would have thought that it’s such a hushed matter.
The origin of the black fog is not clear to me, I presume it’s an intermediate or even an advanced level [Swindler]’s hiding skill, only it can be used on items and locations as well.

Looking vigilantly at both sides, Herix spoke up.

“Today, in the auction house, they will sell a mysterious item. To be more exact, it will be a book. Bidders will of course not know how valuable or what exactly it is, but as it happens, I do.” hearing such an explanation, I was all the more convinced that many people knew what exactly was being auctioned.
If not, I wouldn’t be fed with this information for mere 500 gold.
Herix never haggles, that’s his iron rule.

What could I do, the water was under the bridge, might as well hear it out.
Seeing my expectant look, Herix continued after a cold harrumph.

“The item you seek, the [Intermediate Level Swindler’s Manual] with all its contents will be put on an auction today. From what my birds gathered, one of the [Swindlers] rose in rank to [Advanced], so he’s selling the previous manual as a mysterious item to make a huge profit. And probably to earn for an advanced manual. Pretty smart, eh? Now what you will do with this information depends only on you. I wish you luck, Shady.”

With a quick bow, I saluted to Herix then left hurriedly.
Herix wouldn’t say a word more, that’s a kind of man he was.

Loitering around, I gathered all the materials needed for the construction of the goblin fortress.
Flattery didn’t work wonders on today’s vendors, but I was able to save 2000 gold, that counts as quite a win in here.

The sky was overcast, but it didn’t rain.
I hurried along the streets, heading for a silvery-golden building that was known as [Auction House].
Needless to say, if the materials were of that quality, the guards were something else.
No crook nor swindler could get past them.

Goblins like me were looked down on, but I was a regular, so with a faint scoff of a guard, I was allowed inside.

The interior wasn’t as richly decorated because it didn’t need to be.
Rows of wooden chairs littered a spacious room.
From the bidder’s perspective, the stage was located farther down in the room.
Simply put, the chairs were elevated a little.

Taking one of the empty seats, I awaited the auction.
Soon after, the announcer took the stand on the stage, accompanied by a lovely lady of human race.

“Welcome to our Auction House. Today we will sell many miscellaneous items and an extra mysterious object, be sure to save some money for it!
Without further delay, let’s start!” the announcer’s voice rang out across the room.

Coupled with the exquisite clothes the duo wore, I was pleasantly influenced.
Heh, these people know what they’re doing, they are the true sellers – sly, cunning, influential, and most importantly – rich!

“First item on the list is this mysterious [Azure Crystal]! According to our information, it can protect you from cold and ice magic! We’ll start with 250 gold coins!” clearly, the announcer was excited.
The bidding continued, eventually the crystal sold for 3000 gold coins.

These kind of protective items weren’t super rare, so obviously it didn’t fetch a ridiculous price.

“Our second item is this gorgeous and sturdy [Two-Fanged Red Lion’s Shield]! The shield itself is incredibly durable, able to withstand any blow from an [Expert]! The materials used are [Black Iron] and [Metallic Wood]! We’ll start with the 3000 gold! Who will give me 4000?!”

This item surely seemed nice, but for a sneaky person like me armor would be more desirable piece.
Besides, such a heavy shield would hinder my movements.
In the world of shady dealings, being caught equals death.
As for the price of the shield, it eventually sold for 18000 gold.

Honestly speaking, it wasn’t worth that much, probably someone bought it to impress some rich kid and gain his favor.

“What do we have here? It’s the [Knife Throwing] scroll! Its contents are unknown to me, but according to our expert, it’s an A rank scroll! We’ll start with 6000 gold bid!”

The fair skinned lady next to the announcer had her small mouth gaping wide.
What a drama, those two played their parts perfectly.
However, despite their antics, I was a little interested.
I had one scroll regarding knife throwing which I inherited from an [Expert].

Okay, okay, I didn’t inherit it.
I killed the guy when he was weak and he had it on him.
The strong devours the weak. It should count as the inheritance.

Bidding as far as 8000 gold, I stopped.
No one wanted to pay more and the scroll eventually landed in my hands.
Skimming through it, I felt satisfied and hid it well within my bag.

As the auction continued, many items were auctioned.
Magic resisting items, mana regenerating trinkets, mana cultivation scrolls, books and jewelry.
Offensive magic scrolls, trade secrets of various villages, medicinal pills, herbs, brewing, crystals, wine, all kinds of known and unknown treatments and medicines.

One of the biggest attractions was the service, those kidnapped people were sold into slavery to the highest bidder.
There were many perverts in the world who liked to boss around someone of noble bloodline.
Not to mention the marital duties.

As a [Goblin], it wasn’t really my thing, I mean taking slaves and whatnot, so I didn’t bet during those auctions.

Next were a few weapons, swords of various elements, a long fire element spear as well as a lightning one, coupled with a wind summoning fan and a pair of dark emitting short blades.
None of those attracted my attention either.

Peculiar cloak came up, increasing the stealth’s hiding effect.
To a low level [Swindler] like me, it was a windfall.
Buying it for a price of 5000 gold, which can be called extravagant, or by more rational people splurging money, I felt quite happy.
What’s 5000 gold if it can save my life?

When the bottles of vicious poisons were displayed, many previously passive people suddenly started bidding.
It’s not for the additional killing potential, but to study and research how to make such poison themselves.
With the high price it was sold for, those people could make a fortune if they found a correct formula.

This kind of reasoning was correct, but it belonged to the rich people.
A lowly, poor person like me didn’t have the smarts nor means to research poisons.

Overcome with boredom, I looked around.
There were a few guards I could recognize, those guys belonged to the inner circle of [Black Market].
Only one nickname came to mind it was “Flare”.
That guy was extremely aggresive and didn’t fool around.

A figure which commanded ultimate respect.
Vice-commander of the guard forces of the [Black Market] – [Flare].

The arrival of poisons brought many frantic shouts of anger and joy, but after those auctions concluded, there was only a deathly silence.
Dark box with golden carved symbols was brought by the human lady in exquisite dress.

I concluded that’s the manual I was so desperately looking for.
If I were to understand its contents, I would be able to enter the inner circle, thus gaining prestige and more available resources.

Feeling the greed welling up in my heart, I eyed the box covetously.
“This is the surprise everyone has been waiting for. Inside this mysterious box lays a manual for ambitious individuals. Its value is immense. Without further ado, let’s begin the blind betting! Starting off with 100 gold!”.

500!
800!
1200!
2000!
2700!
5000!
10 000!

As the prices were called one by one, I finally yelled “25 000”.
I couldn’t afford to spend more or this grumpy chieftain will get pissed off.
He doesn’t need to know I lowered his cut already, but if it’s by too much he’ll notice the lacking amount.

To my dismay, someone outbidded me.
Feeling dejected, I was about to leave the [Auction House] when the announcer’s voice rang out “The last bidder doesn’t have enough funds, thus the item goes to bidder number 186!”.

My resentment and grief instantaneously dissappeared, replaced with immense joy.
The [Auction House] always valued quality and honesty, thus when the items were of unknown origin they described them as shady or unknown.
Clearly, this item has been checked earlier, hence I was assured I’ve struck gold.

It’s not like the intermediate level manual was worth this much. Simply put, it was hard to come by.
When many people want to buy something and the items are not available at the requested price or can’t be bought in the area, the merchandise’s value rises.

For me, it was a good opportunity to rise in ranks and power.
Quickly taking out the gold, I finalized the transaction and left furtively.

Arriving at the [Desolated Catacombs], I took out the materials and the chieftain’s cut.
Obviously that dumb goblin was unhappy, but I didn’t care.
For someone like him, it was probably more than he could chew through his entire lifetime.

I needed the items to grow in strength and power.
However, I still listened to the chieftain’s grumbling and decided to stay, waiting in ambush to milk that rich fellow, Icicle, dry.

Entering the sacred area of the goblins’ settlement, I laid low and started perusing the [Intermediate Level Swindler’s Manual].
It will take some time before I can utilize the methods hidden within.

Location Unknown, Black Market, Herix’s POV

“How was it?” I asked curiously.
“That stupid fellow caught the bait. The manual was worth 10k at most, we’ve milked him for 25 grand, here’s your cut.”.
After receiving additional 3000 gold of income, I felt pretty happy.
With a wide grin on my face, I thanked the black market’s auction house’s manager and left.

That stupid fellow, Shady, is really easy to control.
Not only did I get two birds with one stone, I even earned a lot.
Ahh, doing business like this really invigorates me.
No exhaustion nor work involved yet you can earn big.
What a life!

With all that new recruits coming in day and night, I wonder how’s the mansion doing.
Are they keeping the location safe?
This area is turning more and more dangerous to live in, maybe I should move out soon…

Inside Forsaken Labyrinth, 4th floor, Lariette’s POV

How could Icicle leave me with all this?!
Manage the people, okay, that’s doable, but what about these undead?!
“They’ll assimilate” my ass!
What a goddamn liar.

This brat is bringing me nothing but trouble.
The worst of it all is that Eri seems to like those undead.
To her, they are normal.
Jeez, that kid really perceives things differently.

No one from the minotaur side made contact.
They still have around 32 hours to make a decision, but what could they take them so long?
It’s a simple yes or no answer.

I have so much on my mind, Eri, Malhium, Rewin and her enchantments, management, administration…
The moment I came to know Icicle is the beginning of a worst time period of my life.
Work, work and more hard work.
As if I hadn’t had enough being a sole parent, a lone mother!

However, taking my mind off raising Eri is quite beneficial.
I can see a lot of things from a different perspective now.
“Lariette, the break is over, get back to work!” one of the new assistant’s voice rang out, jolting me awake.
I guess many things will change a lot from now on…

 

 

 

 

 

17 thoughts on “Chapter 95 – Black Market

  1. yea i quit its pointless to read this anymore these 20+ povs have kept this story at a standstill you had a good story with a good pace but its been ruin cya

    Like

  2. Was it really necesary these POV?…. You could have said the same thing of this chapter in 10 lines if you want it to be long…. Lariette’s POV was fine, but the goblin?…. i didnt really read much… just glanced and read inbetween lines… being honest im quite dissapointed of this chapter

    Like

      • I’m usually not one to comment, but I get an impression that the angry minority is being the loudest again, can’t have that on my watch 🙂

        Those POV’s from different characters are interesting because they flesh out the world you’re showing us and provide some contrast to main hero’s usual antics. I’m glad you’re not letting the self-absorbed critics cramp your style. Stay cool, keep up the good work, it’s a fun ride.

        Like

        • What I care more than random rants is the improvement of my writing. Writers fail, their stories fall, but their skill shouldn’t.

          As for the “whiners” I would be one of them also. I myself don’t like the side characters chapters, but as an author I can see that they are necessary, especially in the first person.
          If it wasn’t for the logn story I am about to present then maybe I wouldn’t bother and focus only on MC, but felt that would be unjust to the entire world in the story and its “people”.

          Okay, enough of my rant, thank you for the encouragement.

          Like

  3. thanks—-!
    hm— so weget to see how shady’s doing, eh? i think icicle knew he was being tricked, right? how satisfuing to see shady get tricked instead, ahaha! well, lariette has the management skills, so she’s just complaining, anyway..

    Like

  4. It’s about time for Icecle’s sister to show up in his home 🙂 It would be “nice meeting” with new temporary tenant 😀

    Like

  5. I personally found this chapter kind of funny. I’m fine with all the new povs as long as they have a purpose, which all of them seem to have. Honestly for writing this longI’m surprised more povs didn’t start appearing much sooner. It’s not just one, but two worlds we’re talking about here, you can’t get everything from a single character. Also I hope Icicle doesn’t get too overpowered, I like seeing him actually think, makes combat more interesting.
    In belated response to the third person thing, I just meant you could try incorporating sounds into sentences, instead of doing *whatever*. So, for example, there was a part a few chapters ago where you wrote:
    *whisper* *whisper*
    but instead you could have done something like:
    Icicle bent down, whispering something in the man’s ear.
    If you wanted to ground yourself in the first person perspective you could add something like “too quiet for me to hear” at the end but it really wouldn’t be necessary, since it’s not Icicle’s pov, it’s Leesa watching Icicle.
    Just personal preference I guess, easier to read and it ends up being more descriptive.

    Like

Leave a comment