Chapter 18

Author’s note: Recruitment for editing/proofreading officially CLOSED.

Like I said, this week will most likely have two chapters as I’m trying to conjure up the prologue for the series. (It started a bit weak, didn’t it?) I’ll keep you guys posted.


 

Jeremy took his VR helmet off. He stretched his stiff body and washed his face. Arriving in the kitchen, he realized he didn’t prepare anything to eat in advance. “I was so drawn into Loiterous I even forgot my morning jog.” he sighed.

Dressing himself up, Jeremy walked downstairs, greeting Mr.Peng, his condominium’s janitor. He also worked as a watchman, making the tenants feel safer with someone watching the door.

“How are you doing, Mr.Peng?”

“I’m fine, Mr. Grand, how are you?” the janitor replied happily.

“Kind of tired. I played too much and forgot to prepare something for dinner, so I’m heading to the bar right now.” Jeremy smiled.

“You’re going to get something to eat? May I trouble you to buy some for me too? You know I can’t leave my post…” Mr.Peng pleaded.

“Haha, it’s not a problem, what would you like?”

“Ribs! They have the best ones in the area! Get me a portion. No, scratch that! Take two portions of ribs!” Mr. Peng drooled, taking the money out of his wallet.

“I’ll take one too, so three portions of ribs it is then!” Jeremy noted mentally. “Anything else?”

“Get me some cola as well. I would take beer but I’m on duty…” the janitor smiled wryly.

“Got it. I’ll be right back.”

Jeremy walked outside, enjoying the fresh air. “Real life air can’t be compared to that in virtual world after all. This is so much better.” he inhaled deeply, strolling leisurely towards the nearby bar.

“Welcome custo- Oh, it’s you Jeremy! Come sit young man. Haven’t seen you for a while.” the owner gestured on one of the sits. Jeremy used to visit the bar quite frequently when he moved into the town.

Jeremy sat comfortably. “Haven’t you said that you’re going to prepare your own meals not that long ago?” the owner guffawed. He saw the drool on the young man’s face.

“I did, but when I looked at what’s left in my fridge I suddenly remembered your ribs, man, I love them.” Jeremy said. “I felt their aroma all the way down the street!”

“Hahaha, I can see that.” the owner pointed to the drool on the young man’s face. “So, what would you like today?”

“Three portions of ribs, one steak and two colas! Add a lot of veggies to the steak too!” Jeremy said, his eyes wolfing down the grilling meat.

“Did you play too much again?” the owner said, as he grilled the meat. There were signs of sleepiness on Jeremy’s face.

“Kind of. That new Virtual Reality that came out kept me going.” Jeremy admitted.

“I saw the bilboards of this Virtual Reality thing when I drove to get the meat this morning. The advertisements were all over the place.” the owner sighed.

“Albatros Company knows how to rile up the potential players.” Jeremy smirked.

“Does it live up to its reputation though?”

“It’s been fun so far. There are lots of hidden quests. You can’t get them by clicking with your mouse anymore, you actually need to talk to people!” Jeremy explained.

“I see, this sounds quite fun. Oh, your order is coming up!” owner’s bald head moved from side to side as he danced awkwardly.

Zssssk!

“Here you go, three rib portions like you requested and one steak with lots of veggies! Two colas as well.” the owner packed it nicely and handed the bag over. “Don’t lose sleep over a game. If you’re good you’ll catch up anyways.” the owner said, remembering his childhood days. The games were different, but the rivalry was all the same.

“Thanks owner, I’ll be sure to come by soon.” Jeremy said his goodbyes, seeing the owner dancing to the tune in the radio. “He hasn’t changed at all.” Jeremy smiled, walking out.

Jeremy walked back to his condo, enjoying the fresh air and the aroma of the ribs wafting from the bar. He entered his condo and was about to hand over the ribs and the cola to Mr.Peng when he heard the TV noise.

“The craze over the new Virtual Reality, Loiterous, continues. Like we reported before, the gaming device is currently one of the most desirable products on the market. Look at all those queues.” The scenes of people standing in few hundred metres long lines flashed on the screen. Some lines were kilometres long. “However, according to our unofficial information, the gaming headsets are available, it’s just that the Albatros Company controls the release of their product. Whether it’s true or not, the new Virtual Reality entertainment has gained a lot of fans!” the female reporter’s voice resounded.

“Haha, this is all over the news. The new Virtual Reality – Loiterous. Even my kids want to play it. It’s not that expensive, I’m just not sure if I should let them play.” Mr. Peng said as he motioned Icicle to sit next to him. He turned off the TV and said “Let’s eat.”

“I’ve been playing it as well. What age are your children?” Jeremy asked after swallowing a mouthful.

“They are both 12, twins!” janitor laughed, stuffing his mouth with the ribs. “A boy and a girl. What do you say, should I let them play?”

“I think the contract states you need to be at least 18 to play. And it’s right, the monsters that prowl in the game aren’t defeated by characters anymore. They attack you and it hurts. It’s dulled, but it still does. I don’t think your kids are ready for that yet.” Jeremy said. “But don’t worry, the VR technology is still in its infancy. I’m sure your kids will have a lot to play in the future.” he reassured.

“I see. Thanks for this, after hearing all about it in the TV and in the radio, I didn’t know how to say no to them.” Mr. Peng nodded.

“You should check the contract information. Maybe the age restriction is lower. You could always play with them, showing them the awesomeness of their father.” Jeremy hinted with a smirk.

“I sure will!” Mr.Peng nodded, feeling grateful for the suggestion.

Jeremy ate his own portion, chatting with the janitor for a while. They drank their cola and burped happily. Fortunately no other neighbours saw them.

“Well then, I’ll get going. I need to get some sleep.”

“You sure do! Your eyes are baggy. Take a good rest!” Mr.Peng waved to say goodbye. “And thank you for your advice!” he screamed to the young man on the stairs.

“Not a problem” Jeremy screamed back and went upstairs. On his way up he met the old couple, Mrs. and Mr. Hai.

“Jeremy, young man, you look worn out.” Mrs. Hai said fondly.

“I’m just a little tired, didn’t sleep too well last night.” Jeremy scratched his head.

“Are you sure? You decided to earn money off games but it seems to take its toll on you. You can always work for us at our firm.” Mrs. Hai encouraged. She and her husband moved to America from China. They mainly employed chinese, helping their own countrymen abroad. Some time after Jeremy moved into this place, they arrived with a lot of baggage. The moving company didn’t help the couple carry it to their apartment, leaving them in the predicament. Jeremy chanced upon them downstairs and organized other neighbours to help the couple settle in.

“Thanks as always, Mrs. Hai, Mr. Hai, but I’m good. If I ever need help, I’ll make sure to ask you.” Jeremy bowed, grateful for the concern the old couple showed him. He was merely of little help, yet they showered him with such deep care and attention.

“Well, you know where to find us. Come visit us sometime. I’ll bake a cake for you.” Mrs. Hai smiled.

“I will.” Jeremy didn’t tarry and left to get some sleep.

Waking up, Jeremy felt refreshed. It was nighttime. After eating a late dinner, he took a shower.

“Still no messages, huh?” Jeremy muttered, checking his phone. “The meeting should be happening soon though.”

Not minding it anymore Jeremy wore his VR helmet and logged into Loiterous. It was time to progress in the new world as Icicle.

Appearing in the Mage Guild’s backyard, Icicle decided to train his spells first. He was too tired before. Now that he regained his clarity, he should be good to go.

“So you’re here.” rang out the voice behind him. Icicle turned and saw Vilenne practicing her swordsmanship.

“Did you doubt I would return? I was just tired, that’s all.”

“We thought you’re going to return at night, but you actually took your sweet time and came in the morning. Well, it doesn’t matter. Entertain me a little.” Vilenne brandished her sword.

“Sorry, I have no time right now. I need to practice the spells before I head over to Red Blooming Valley.” Icicle tactfully refused.

“That’s fine. I’ll help you practice and then we’ll spar a little.” Vilenne walked over and stretched her hand to cast [Water prison].

“If by sparring you mean something like yesterday, then like I said, I can’t afford to do that. It’s too mentally taxing. But, I can play with you when I get back.” Icicle offered.

“Hmm…” Vilenne tapped her chin, turning pensive. “Alright, I have my students to teach today anyways, so I’ll play with them a bit. You’ll entertain me when you return.” she said with certainty.

“Fair enough. Although I thought you’ll be reluctant after yesterday.” Icicle chuckled.

“Hmph, you just lucked out because I wasn’t prepared.” Vilenne pouted.

“Oh really?” Icicle smirked.

“Yes, really! Do you dare to duel me now?” Vilenne cast him a glare, taking an aggresive battle stance.

“Sure, five hours of your time, teaching me with greatest care if you lose. No complaints about losing either. What do you say?” Icicle didn’t want to go all out, but if it’s just a little spar to make his learning more enjoyable, why not?

“I agree!” Vilenne accepted immediately. “When this copper coin falls on the ground, we’ll start. Remember, no complaints!” Vilenne smirked, set on releasing her full power at the beginning of the duel.

Tink!

The copper coin flew from Vilenne’s hands, spinning in the air. Reaching its height limit, the copper coin reflected the rays of the rising sun. The copper coin was closer and closer to the ground. Vilenne’s grin grew wider and wider, her eyes blazing with excitement. Icicle stood opposite her, smiling gently.

Tink!

The coin fell on a stone and let out a metallic sounds. As soon as it did the two figures moved. Vilenne imbued her sword with a massive amount of mana, planning to finish this duel with one strike! She felt somewhat insulted losing her cool yesterday. This was her way of showing dominance. Otherwise she would play with Icicle a while longer, enjoying her time.

She was 5m away, 3m, and finally 1m!

HOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOWL!

Blurry image of a giant Direwolf appeared behind Icicle, shaking Vilenne to the core. She froze on spot, the mana imbued in her sword dissipating. Her muscles tensed, making her unable to move. Only her eyes were capable of moving, making her feel like a lead statue.

Icicle who has just used [Soundless Fear], powered up by 20 Charisma and some mana control, took a step forward and tapped Vilenne’s shoulder with his sword, bringing the cold steel to her smooth neck. “You have just died.” he said, sheathing the sword away.

Three seconds passed and Vilenne regained the control of her body. “You little scoundrel, you actually had something like that?! That doesn’t coun-”

“Tsk, tsk. No complaints, remember?” Icicle smirked.

Vilenne threw a tantrum and lodged her sword deep into the soil, venting out.

“Are you feeling dissatisfied?” Icicle gloated.

“Dissatisfied? I want to murder you right now!” she fumed.

“Well, you lost, so adhere to your promise. Who would have thought you’re such a sore loser.” Icicle made fun of his beautiful teacher.

“I’m so going to make you eat dirt when you return. Just you wait little bastard!” Vilenne balled her fists.

“Now, now. Being angry will only make you develop wrinkles faster. Come on, teach me~.”

Vilenne mustered up a smile. The corner of her mouth trembled. She seemed on the verge of going berserk.

Cindy stood inside the corridor of the Mage Guild, watching the duel of the two through the window. “What a great bonding between a Master and disciple.” she chuckled. “Ivir, I know you’re around. Make a trip to Lasos City and ask a Water Mage to come teach here. That childish noblewoman you so like to tease seems on the verge of destroying her icy demeanor.”

“Why me? Can’t you send someone else?” Ivir felt wronged. She was being turned into an errand boy.

“I remember you saying that you wanted to buy some jewelry. This is your chance. Besides, your father asks me about your progress quite often. At least now I can say you were invited to the Lasos City’s Mage Guild.” Cindy shook her head helplessly.

“Fine, I’ll go.” Ivir covered the joy in her heart with indifferent expression. She was pampered by her father, so she grew spoiled. Otherwise, with her talent in magic she would be long acclaimed as a genius of her generation.

Curtis looked for the Black Hound for the entire 12 hours. He was so tired he had no more motivation to kill the Wild Dogs.

He walked around the town in the rays of a rising sun, exhausted to the extreme. On the way back, he asked some players  he encountered if they have seen the accursed dog. He was worried that the hound might just be prowling in stealth, never to be found. What joy it was when he heard that the dog followed someone. Curtis listened to the player’s story attentively, recovering some fatigue.

“Like I said man, there was this guy walking with a whole entourage behind him. A black dog called Black Hound or something attacked him. He gave it a thrashing and somehow scared it into following him. When he tried to enter the town, he was refused by the guards. I saw him giving some meat to the dog after which it became his familiar. See those guys hacking at the Wild Dogs over there? They are hoping for the next black hound to spawn so they may get a familiar as well.” the player narrated.

“Fuck!” Curtis cursed. That player who tamed the Black Hound made it impossible for him to find another now. Even if the creature respawned there was a bunch of fanatics outside the city looking for it! He could only wait for them all to leave the beginner area…

“What was that player’s name?” Curtis tried to grasp the last straw of hope.

“I think it was Icicle? Something like that man.”the player replied, somewhat irritated by the barrage of questions.

“Thank you.” Curtis spoke weakly, heading over to the town to log off.

Icicle practiced with Vilenne. His control over the spells turned from “I can’t do anything” to “at least 50% of the time they work”. He couldn’t really pinpoint the target with his [Water prison] yet, but he was satisfied.

“It has been over 2 hours since we started. Your control is getting better and better rapidly. I don’t understand why don’t you just learn the spells we teach like other adventurers.” Vilenne shook her head.

“Because those adventurers can’t control them fully. Their spells are predictable. That’s the last thing I want.” Icicle explained.

“I see.” Vilenne smirked. “You’ve learned long enough, time to put it into practice.” she unsheathed her sword.

“You’re trying to get back at me for what happened before?” Icicle hesitated.

“Ask me one more time and I will. Now unsheathe your sword, little bastard. There’s nothing to make your body learn better than a good trashing.” Vilenne cutely snorted. “Besides, I keep to my word. I’m just HELPING you.” Vilenne smiled innocently.

Another 3 hours passed, Icicle was drenched in sweat but his control over the spells increased even futher. Vilenne’s battle stimulation forced him to adjust many things, including spells and sword attacks. She didn’t give him any breathers, making him spent his entire stamina bar and continue after that. Fortunately he could do without relying on his self-detachment state, saving on fatigue. After eating Wild Boar’s meat and drinking some lemonade, Icicle’s fatigue recovered.

“You’ve gotten better now. All you need to do is practice some more. Make sure to work on that little droplet of water as well. You need to refine it if you want to use the pure mana to attack or defend.” Vilenne reminded.

“Thanks for the lesson, Master~.” Icicle stuck his tongue out.

“Don’t worry, I’ll make you learn some respect when you return.” Vilenne ruffled Icicle’s dark hair, smiling innocently. Her mouth held a deviously impish smile.

Icicle stretched lazily. “Can you shower me with water like you did with Ivir earlier?” he asked.

Vilenne laughed, holding her sides. “To think you’ll actually ask for something like that. Here.” Water sprayed more than enough on Icicle’s face and whole set, making him soaking wet. It seemed as if he had just exited from the underwater cave.

“Thanks, that’s better.” Icicle nodded, feeling satisfied. The sticky sensation of sweat was now gone, replaced by pleasant cold feeling.

“I need to talk to Cindy before I go.” Icicle said.

“I’ll call her for you. Just wait here.” Vilenne cast Icicle a glance and covered her mouth, smothering the laughter.

Icicle waited patiently and after a few minutes Cindy came out. She gave Icicle a weird glance. When Vilenne stood next to him it looked dubious.

“No, we didn’t have sex.” Icicle said curtly.

Whack!

Icicle’s head crooned downwards as Vilenne smacked it with her open palm. Cindy chuckled on the side, clutching her stomach. “You make a great pair.” she said.

“Hmph, who wants to be with this little bastard?” Vilenne refuted immediately.

“Well, he’s your height, he’s well-built and quite handsome, what else do you need?” Cindy smirked.

“Hmph. Don’t just push men into my arms Cindy. Especially younger ones.” Vilenne turned her head away.

“How old is that beautiful flower?” Icicle asked Cindy, gesturing at Vilenne.

“She’s 21.” Cindy chuckled.

“Don’t just tell him!” Vilenne fumed.

“Hm, 21 huh. For someone younger than me she’s quite fierce. Aren’t you, little brat?” Icicle smirked.

“W-What?! You’re older than me? Bullshit!” Vilenne cried out.

“Now that you’re here, let’s talk about business. I’m going to the Red Blooming Valley, do you have any task I can complete there?” Icicle asked Cindy, smiling gently. He completely ignored the raging Vilenne on the side.

“Did you know that adventurers rapidly advanced in strength recently? More and more people head over there. However, members of the Mage Guild have priority…” Cindy hinted.

“Is that so? Any obligations?” Icicle followed the lead.

“Defending Vilen Town when it’s under attack, that’s about it. The rest is purely optional. I’m sure you’ll like the benefits we provide. I’ll tell you all about them when you return from your mission, established as a full-fledged Mage Guild member.” Cindy chuckled as she watched Vilenne thrashing on the side.

“Little bastard, how old are you! Tell me!” Vilenne kept screaming.

“It’s a secret, little brat. Now act your age in front of your elders and pipe down.” Icicle dismissed his teacher, turning to Cindy. “Sure, I’ll join. I hope you won’t turn me into an errand boy though. I do have some aspirations, you know?” Icicle said, as he walked back to the guild with Cindy.

Vilenne’s limbs were trembling. “Little brat?” she muttered, “I’ll show you who’s the little brat!” Powerful swirl appeared in front of her, turning into a large body of water.

Whoosh!

A huge ball of water flew Icicle’s way at high velocity. He walked along Cindy, not minding it at the slightest. When it was 3m away from him, he swayed to the side, letting it hit the Mage Guild’s building, splashing water all around.

“That little bastard knows [Sense presence] to that degree?” Vilenne furrowed her brows. “I thought it was a bit weird when he dodged my attacks with his eyes closed, but…” she tapped her chin. “Oh well, he can’t have anything more stored up. I’ll make him eat dirt when he comes back!” she resolved herself, venting her frustration by swinging the sword. “If it wasn’t for Cindy next to him…” she fumed.

Ding!

[Bring back Blue Lizardman Prince’s Heart]
Cindy from the Mage Guild asked you to deliver lizardmen prince’s heart.

Rewards: Relationship with the Mage Guild improves, ???
No time limit.

“I hope you won’t be too tempted by the thing I requested.” Cindy smiled.

“We’ll see.” Icicle hasn’t made any promises.

Icicle glanced at the quest window and made it disappear. He showed his appreciation towards Cindy.

“Before you leave, tell me more about the dual wielding.” Cindy proposed.

“How do you control your mana currently?” Icicle asked.

“You saw it, didn’t you?” Cindy smiled gently.

“Sigh, I’m not asking about your method. What do you think about when you channel the mana through your body?”

“Well, that’s…” Cindy stammered.

“Alright, let me start then. Your current thinking probably goes along those lines “generate the power in one hand and then channel the rest of the mana to the other”, right?” Icicle inferred.

Cindy nodded.

“Well, for me it’s different. Think of yourself as of a tree. Your legs are the roots, your abdomen area where the mana resorvoir is located is the trunk, your arms are the tree branches and your head is the treetop.”

Icicle saw Cindy closing her eyes to imagine that, so he continued.

“When you send out the mana from your mana container to nourish the branches, you don’t just send the right amount. If you could, you would be dual wielding already. What you should do, is think of the entire tree as a one large system. Although both your branches gain the same amount of nourishment, they should also have the full access to the resources of your trunk, that is your mana resoirvoir. The whole body is like a tree, imagine that and you should do better. Think on it, try it and let me know if it did help you.” Icicle concluded his thought, leaving the guild to accomplish Tailor Marisse’s quest.

Cindy was left pondering on the subject. She immersed herself in the scenery Icicle described. Mana coursed through her body with unrestrained speed, reaching new heights. “This actually improved my mana control by a lot!” Cindy rejoiced. “I can’t control it the way Icicle did yet, but with time, I should be able to slowly breakthrough!”

“This news must be kept under the wraps!” Cindy decided.

21 thoughts on “Chapter 18

  1. What was that where is the goddess of water and shining pillars , was the chapter well but you changed one of the best parts of the story

    Like

  2. hi !! thanks for the triple release !

    Icicle who has just used [Soundless Fear], powered up by 20 Charisma
    –> hahaha… he already profited immensly from the +10charisma he gained in the previous chapter. I didn’t notice that it Doubles his existing charisma…

    hahaha… Icicle is teaching old monsters how to be even more awesome…

    typos:

    “If by sparring you mean something like yesterday, than like I said,
    –> I think it should be “then”…

    He could only wait for them all to live the beginner area…
    –> to leave

    Like

  3. I feel like I wanna keep on reading. I get disappointed when there is no next chapter

    Any way great work loved it, specially chapter 16 I starter to roll on my bed laughing 😆

    Like

  4. Thanks for the chapter. ^^

    Seems like the stalker (Asassin) is in his way.
    I’m surprised he gave a lesson to the guildmaster.
    I have a bad feeling about that Bue lizardmen prince heart.

    Like

  5. I liked the rework so far but now i have one problem with it and that is that icicle got his class without doing much. I mean he basicly lucked out with the fact that the gm’s gave the class to him. Before he had to train for months just to get that class, which gave a good feeling to the fact that he was op because he actually worked for it. Now its just: “well meh he was kinda lucky”. And yea i know you are trying to make him work hard later for developing the class but that just isnt as good dont you think?

    Like

    • I kind of get what you mean, but the GMs didn’t give him anything yet, so I don’t know what’s the accusation for. Remember that writers often put in misleading paragraphs to enrich your reading experience.

      From what I have planned (if we’re talking about Ice Mages) then it’s at least 20x harder than it was in the older version.

      As for the Water Mage, he could afford it anyways and the class is widely available outside the starting area. Like I said in the first chapters some NPCs are unique to the starting areas because of their involvement in the hidden and special quests.

      Like

      • Yes i apologize. I read it again and noticed that there was a misunderstanding on my part. It just really would have bugged me if you would have the training section away. Since that isnt the case and you just gave him a starting point, im sorry for my accusation.

        But still i think (and thats just my opinion) that you should refrain from making him too op in the beginning so that he will have more of an impact after he gets his class under control. If you make him op all the time the wow-effect after winning a difficult battle will be smaler, because we will expect him to win to a certain extent.

        But if you want to continue like this its tottaly fine your writting so far is really great so i dont think i can really complain because being op fits well with the protagonist.

        And btw ty for the chapter ;).

        Like

        • That’s not a problem, all it means is that you’re invested into the characters and that I have done a good job somewhere ;p

          As for the training part, it’s changed, but it’s there. And being OP really depends on the viewpoint of the players and their levels. For example he may seem OP now because of items, but at level 50+ it won’t be as relevant.

          Like

    • Unfortunately I don’t, I started writing over 9 months ago (31st May 2015) and focused solely on Loiterous. However, I have another story in mind right now, but I need some time to add the details to the world.

      Like

Leave a comment