Need another week

TL;DR: I need one more week to implement the changes and show the results. Read below for the short explanation.

These two weeks flew by quickly. I didn’t expect my research to take this long, but at least it has proven fruitful. To some degree. I haven’t been able to do much… not yet.

The problem I encountered almost immediately was style. The narrative has been too crude for the story I have envisioned. Lately, I was writing chapters to keep to the wanky schedule, follow the deadline, instead of showing you guys the story it was supposed to be.

For that I apologize. I was so preoccupied with what to do with the characters’ past that I didn’t focus on the “present”. Recent chapters were unnecessarly prolonged, losing in quality. I’ve noticed that, but glanced it over, toiling away to write yet another chapter. Your comments made me fully aware.

Anyways, that is fixable. It will definetely make me incorporate some changes, most likely switching some scenes, addding more detail.

To the point now. I have been looking for a new narrative. Something that will let me express myself better, instead of stringing the words together just so they can make do. Reading is about that magic after all, something that makes us visualize the events in fluidity. Too plain and it won’t be magical. Too sophisticated and the readers will frown at the strangeness. Finding that tenuous balance is what separates the good writers from the great.

I could rant about how I read for over 10 hours a day to find the answer, but it’s not really that important. What matters is that it worked. However, after I read through a 400 000 words behemoth of a book, I haven’t had the time to implement any of the changes.

Thus, I’ll have to ask for a week more of your patience. I honestly doubt I will be finished by then. There’s a lot of chapters to rework, but it has to be done. At least if I want to proceed forward in a steady, comfortable way.

Fear not, I will not get over my head with another rewrite. I DO NOT plan on changing everything. If anything, I plan on adding more detail to the world, so that it doesn’t feel so flat. There probably will be some new content mixed in too, chapters of real life or interludes of the past. I feel like there has been way too little focus on that matter.

Sadly, it means more work for me and probably a REREAD for YOU. I’ll bring you guys the results, at least a few chapters by the end of the week so you can judge whether the change of narrative is for the better or if I should find another way around all this. All I can say for now is that the new narrative is that of published books. Whether I can use it well, as I said, you’ll be the judge of.

I’ll try to get a chapter from the beginning of the series and a couple of the latest ones, although do mind that these will be the “test chapters”, so they might differ a bit in the long run.

Thank you for all your recent support, you guys are awesome <3.

 

7 thoughts on “Need another week

  1. If it’s that hard on you I wouldn’t even bother with a schedule. Getting novel quality with a webnovel schedule is unrealistic in my opinion.

    Like

  2. Increible, yo estoy escribiendo una novela se llama bosque de los sueños, y creame si te digo q tu historia me gusto mucho gracias, mi estancamiento por fin parece hqber encontrado una salida, Bosque De Los Sueños- Despertar

    fantastic , I’m writing a novel called forest of dreams, and believe me when I say that I really liked your story thanks , my stagnation appears to have finally found a way out , Wake Forest dreams-

    Like

Leave a comment