Chapter 9 – Desolated Catacombs part 1

Author’s note: As there are more “beings” that can speak telepathically now, I’ll show their dialogues with asterisks  (this thingy: * ) in front and at the end of the sentence.

Heading out of the town, I remembered the deep kiss I shared with Vilenne.

‘I hope she won’t kill me when I get back…’

Remembering the sword Vilenne gave me I finally had the moment to check its stats.

“Is it really an artifact? Plain looking hilt, and this rugged blade… it looks more like a junk than an artifact.’

[Glacier Sword] [Artifact]
Description: A bloodbound sword of once the strongest Battle Mage, Farren Frostshield.
???

‘Bloodbound sword? Guess I need to drop some of my blood on it.’

This time it was easier, as the sword, despite its looks, was actually sharp, especially when compared to the [Rusted Sword] I had to use previously.
As the [Glacier Sword] started shining, seemingly evolving I saw a faint blue aura around it.

???: *Hello, young boy.*

Hearing this deep, ancient male voice I turned around only to find no one there.

???: *No need to be so cautious. I’m in your hands after all.*

Looking at the sword, I saw that it looked different.
Blue luster around it wasn’t the only thing that changed.
Its rugged surface became even, as if it was newly forged.
The plain looking hilt was now made out of some kind of red crystal, but that’s not all there was.
Large crystal with some kind of insignia on it was embedded inside the hilt.
Taking a closer look, I saw that this was actually a creature resembling a roaring tiger.

I still couldn’t get my head around this situation, so to reassure myself that I’m not crazy, I tried talking telepathically.

Icicle: *Are you the one talking to me?*

???: *You can talk telepathically? That makes things easier. Now that we’re seeing eye to eye, how about you tell me who are you and where’s my master?

Icicle: *Asking me questions when I don’t even know who you are. That’s pretty rude.*

???: *My name’s Eshel. Moving on, can you tell me why are you wielding me instead of my master, Farren Frostshield?*

Icicle: *My name’s Icicle, and I don’t know who your master really was, so I can’t say.*

Eshel: *What do you mean, you don’t know? He was the strongest Ice Mage!*

Letting out a sigh, I tried telling Eshel what I know.

Icicle: *Listen Eshar, all I know about Ice Mages is that 10000 years ago they suddenly dissapeared without a trace. Vilenne Frostshield, my master and apparently the descendant of the Ice Mages, gave me this sword as a gift and now that I’ve dropped some of my blood on it, you’ve started talking.*

Eshel: *I see, so they’ve perished. I guess you’re my new master now. There’s one little thing missing though. How were you able to awaken me? Only Ice Mage should be capable of that.*

Telling my new companion how I became an Ice Mage, he seemed to know of the entire procedure so I didn’t have to prove anything.

Eshel: *So that’s what has happened. You’re probably the only Ice Mage alive. Restoring their former glory will really depend on your actions, Icicle.

Icicle: *It most likely will. I don’t know much, so I’ll be counting on you, Eshel.*

Eshel: *Now, that we’re in this together, no one can stop us.*

After this comment I felt that the task I’m supposed to accomplish will get a lot easier.

Eshel: *So where are we headed?*

Icicle: *I need to get stronger, so I’m going to train in the [Desolated Catacombs].*

Eshel: *I see. I’m no longer asleep, so I should be able to ease your training a little.*

Oh right, the stats!

[Eshel][Artifact]
Description: A bloodbound sword of once the strongest Battle Mage,  Farren Frostshield.
Attack: 57-62
Effects:
Your sword attacks have 10% chance of freezing the enemy for 2 seconds.
Self-repair: Lost durability can be restored with mana.
Special effects:
Killing your enemy with single-targeted ice magic restores 50% of the mana cost.
???
[Unequippable] [Unable to drop]

‘Wow, that’s awesome. This will definitely help me out.’

But isn’t it weird? For the stats of the artifact of once the strongest Battle Ice Mage, it felt… lacking?

Icicle: *Eshel, why are your stats so underwhelming? I can feel that you’re better than it looks, but I can’t tell why. Your stats don’t show it either.*

Eshel: *You are too weak to use me properly, boy. When you get stronger, you’ll see the reason.*

Icicle: *Fair enough. Any tips on what I should improve on?*

Eshel: *Your wisdom is severely lacking. Even the weakest of Ice Mages were at 3000 points.*

Icicle: *3000 wisdom? I’m at 250!*

Eshel: *That’s why I said you’re too weak. Getting stronger in that dungeon is a way to go.*

Icicle: *I guess it will be a long, uphill road to power and greatness…*

After I was 2km away from the town, a pack of wolves attacked me.
It took me 3 minutes to kill 10 of them, if it wasn’t for Vilenne’s spartan training I would probably be dead in few seconds…

They were only level 5, but their damage was absurdly high, especially since they had high chance for crirtical hits.
However, with the training I went through, my new abilities and the help of my new sword, it wasn’t that hard to dispatch them.
They were 10 levels lower than me, resulting in not 0 experience gain.
Even if they were to give some, my title would decrease it by 50%…

Pack type monsters were really scary.
I can’t even imagine being surrounded by 20 creatures, even if they were only lvl 10, I would have to go all out and use [Ice storm] to clear them… but what if they were spread enough and had range units?
Ice storm is after all, like what… 15m radius?
I don’t even want to think about it.
Not having any armor doesn’t help either.

I didn’t want to waste more time than I already have, dealing with these non-profitable monsters.
Picking up the speed, I ignored the wolves and occasional bears that tried to get their paws on me.
Travelling down the road I reached Desolated Catacombs after 15 minutes of running.

Seeing the entrance to the underground,  I immediately noticed 2 guards stationed in front of it.
It looked like a cave made out of greyish stone, leading down to the underground.

What’s surprising, many people were gathered in front of the entrance, some looking for party, others selling their loots.
What surprised me the most, is that some of them had familiars.
There were mostly wolves, some of the adventurers had bears, I saw occasional wild dogs as well.

Even if these weren’t the best familiars one could get, I still felt kind of left out.

Checking the stalls that the players set up I was shocked at the prices.

30g for a rare sword with a damage range 30-37 that’s so expensive.
Some of the players wanted to trade for a rare piece of armor or something of equal value for their friends.

I couldn’t wear any of it nor have I had any items to trade or money to buy it.
I went straight for the entrance, that’s when a girl called out to me.

???: Hey there, I am Enna, we’re looking for a party member, would you like to join?

Blond priestess. That would be the most accurate way of saying what the girl looked like. 1,70m high, brown eyes and a little nose. Her lips were curved up in a lovely smile. With a staff in her hand and the white robe with a cross sign on it she was wearing, I assumed she was a priest..

I saw her pointing to a group of 6 people.

‘Should I join? I don’t know much about the other classes and who knows what dangers lay in the dungeon. They all even have pets. Guess I’m in.’

Icicle: I’d love to. My name is Icicle.

Enna: It’s nice to meet you, Icicle.

Leading me to her party, Enna seemed to be in a cheerful mood.

Enna: Hey FieryRed, look I’ve found one.

The girl she called FieryRed was a redhaired lass around 1,75m tall with blue eyes, FieryRed wore a breastplate armor, with what seemed like a warrior beginner set. Steel shield in her hand and the sword on her back plus that characteristic cross sign… is she a paladin?

FieryRed: It’s high time. What’s his class?

Enna: I forgot to ask.

FieryRed: You’re really clumsy. Oi, newbie, what’s your class?

‘Newbie? Why would she say that? Oh right, I don’t even wear beginner equipment from the blacksmith…’

Icicle: I’m a Water Mage.

FieryRed: Water Mage. Hmph. Why would we need such a useless class? He doesn’t even have a familiar, and look at his equipment!

I left them to quarrel on their own. I didn’t necessarily need to party up, I just thought it would be good to see some teamplay action.
After a while, emerald-haired girl walked in and took them both by their scruffs.
She had hazel eyes and gave off a mature aura. Wearing a robe without any marks on it, I figured she was a mage.

???: How should I deal with you both, hmm?

Seeing her annoyed expression and pulsating vein on her forehead, both girls went ashen pale.

Enna: I’m sorry Faura.

FieryRed: I-It’s not my fault!

Faura: I’ll let it slide this time, but you better behave.

Releasing them from her iron grip Faura walked up to me and with a smile on her face said.

Faura: Why don’t you join us?

Icicle: Are you sure? Some of you don’t seem to be fine with it.

Faura: It’s okay, I’ll CONTROL them.

When she said “control” I could feel killing intent oozing out of her. Enna and FieryRed started.

Icicle: Very well. I’ll be in your care.

After this short talk we have entered the dungeon…

5 thoughts on “Chapter 9 – Desolated Catacombs part 1

    • Thank you. I can’t release them faster, don’t want to screw up the story. Don’t worry there will definitely be a chapter today 😉

      Like

Leave a comment